Discworld is the fictional world Terry Pratchett invented and writes about in his comedy fantasy novels. This page can be used as a reference for information related to the Discworld universe, as well as the books.


Discworld consists of a large disc (complete with edge-of-the-world drop-off and consequent waterfall) resting on the backs of four huge elephants which are in turn standing on the back of an enormous turtle, named Great A’Tuin, as it slowly swims through space. The Disc has been shown to be heavily influenced by magic and, while Pratchett has given it certain similarities to planet Earth, he has also created his own system of physics for it.

The Disc

In Memoriam

Sadly, Terry Pratchett has passed away on March 12th, 2015 at the age of 66. I hope this page may serve as a reminder of the mark he made upon this world.


As of November 2013, 40 Discworld books have been written. Although they can be read independently from each other, a number of novels and stories can be grouped together into grand story arcs dealing with a set number of characters and events, and some books refer to earlier (or later) events.

In this column, the books have been categorized into blocks according to the story arc they can be grouped into, and have been sorted by release date. Some books can belong to multiple arcs, so some overlap between blocks occurs. A suggested reading order, as well as an overview of connections between books and story arcs, can be found at http://www.lspace.org/books/reading-order-guides/the-discworld-reading-order-guide-20.jpg

Follow page
Message M
Report link